New Stuff[hide]

Grupos: Los Van Van : Músicos
Grupos: Manolito y su Tr... : Músicos
Grupos: Guaco : The 3rd Phase: 86-91
Grupos: Guaco : 80-85: The Ricardo He...
Reportes: From The St... : Cubadisco 2...
Musicos: Lily La Amazona del Sabor
Grupos: Calixto Oviedo Mulens
Grupos: Calixto Oviedo M... : Discography
Grupos: Guaco : Into The 90s: Conquer...
Grupos: Guaco : A Very Special Trilog...
Grupos: Guaco : The 1970s
Staff: Bill Tilford
Reportes: Curuyé in LA
Grupos: Guaco
Grupos: Guaco : Discography

Photos of the Day [hide]

cuban music, musica cubana cuban music, musica cubana cuban music, musica cubana cuban music, musica cubana
Se llama sabroso - ZONA FRANKA

SpanishEnglishWInners/Ganadores JoJazz 2019

WINNERS OF JOJAZZ 2019 (Sources:  Cubarte and Radio Rebelde)

The 22nd edition of JoJazz took place in Havana, Cuba from November 21-24, 2019.  This national competition provides a glimpse into the future of Jazz in Cuba each year, and some of the winners are rewarded with recording opportunities and other prizes.    An unique aspect of JoJazz is that the jury, which is comprised of former winners and distinguished members of Cuba's Jazz community, is not obligated to designate winners for every award if it feels that none of the contestants in that category met the high standards required for the award. 
According to Cubarte and Radio Rebelde, the winners for 2019 are: 

Grand Prize - Jazz Band de Holguin
First Prize, Large Format -  Jazz Band de Holguin
Second Place, Large Format - Jazz Band de la Escuela Nacional de Arte
Third Place, Large Format - Jazz Band de Pinar de Rio
Mention, Large Format - Jazz Band de Santiago de Cuba 
First Prize, Small Format - Confluencia (Santiago de Cuba)
Second Place, Small Format - Equinox (Pinar del Rio)
Third Place, Small Format -  Le Noted Blue (Conservatorio Amadeo Roldan)
Older Soloists - no prizes awarded
First Prize, Younger Soloists - Laura Rodríguez Hechemendía  (vocalist, Camagüey)
Second Place, Younger Soloists - Eduardo Izaguirre Artiles (violinist, Villa Clara)
Third Place, Younger Soloists - Juan Carlos Poveda (guitarist, Havana) 
First Prize, Composition - Carlos Vega Pérez
Second Place, Composition - Claudio González Hernández
Third Place, Composition - Andy García Palacios
Mentions, Composition - Christopher Jonathan Leyva & Abel Gonzáles

For more information, see

Sunday, 01 December 2019, 10:39 PM